top of page

Becoming a writer

The earliest memory that I have of writing was probably when I was around 5 or 6 years old. My sister and I would make up all kinds of stories of us going on adventures and we loved it. To make the stories come to life, I would take a stack of paper and fold it in half, and then on the fold I would staple it so it could be opened like a real book. Inside I would create illustrations for the stories we made up. From then on I had always loved to write. In class I would continue to write stories and I remember in 4th grade my teacher showing one of them to my parents at a conference. I hadn’t always known that I wanted to be a writer. As a kid it was just something to pass the time. My sister had her heart set on becoming a Veterinarian for pretty much as long as I can remember and now she’s living her dream in vet school. Then there was me who probably changed my mind on what I wanted to be when I grew up every other week. But looking back, what I loved most was just reading and creating stories. As life went on, my passion grew and now, here I am as a Theology major and Writing minor. Those stories may have been imaginary and much different from the way that I write today but there is one thing that is similar; I wanted to influence people with my words. I know that the purpose that God gave me was to serve people and the gifts he combined it with is writing. I know I have a long way to go to be the best writer I can be, but one thing that will never change is the child in my heart that just wants love and influence people.

Recent Posts

See All

The End of an Era

Being pregnant causes a weird haze around school that just doesn’t seem to go away. Being a week and a half away from graduation, I feel...

Transitions

Being pregnant comes with a lot of transitions. Tomorrow, I will be 25 weeks along with my twin boys and there are still so many new...

Comments


Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page