top of page

Being like Jesus

Song of the week: Only Jesus by Casting Crowns

"I don't want to leave a legacy

I don't care if they remember me

Only Jesus

And I, I've only got one life to live

I'll let every second point to Him"


This week, I honestly had no idea what I was going to write. I had been in such a flow of productivity and I was learning a lot from God that each blog post that I have made, I know that my mind had been processing it all week, each week. But this week, I felt slow. Maybe it was because two of my classes were canceled for some random reason so I didn’t have much to do but it hindered my mindset of the week. I wasn’t focused. I was lazy. I didn’t have the motivation to pick up my Bible and read and talk to God. And if I’m honest, I barely got off the couch this week. But on Tuesday something kinda surprising happened.

During the first term, I had taken a Leadership training course with Young Life to get Spil credits and to become a ministry leader. I was accepted to become a leader in November and I was stoked. But that was the last I had heard anything. I thought that door closed for me. That God was telling me that it wasn’t for me. I let it happen because I’m not gonna argue with God. But on Tuesday, I got a call from my YL leader, Justin, and he explained that he got my number mixed up and was texting and calling the wrong number for MONTHS. Updating me on what was new, he told me that there was a leader meeting on Thursday. Last night. All day yesterday I had felt nervous and hesitant, not sure if this was really meant for me. Being me, I got there 10 minutes early and only a few other people were there. But as time went on, people I actually knew came in and I had a group to hang out with. I met new people, and I realized that these people were amazing. They were all on fire for God and the gospel and lifting each other up.

When I was assigned to be a leader for Young Life, I was told I was one of two people who were going to start outreach in St. Paul. Last night, every time I mentioned it, the people around me were so joyful and excited for me to start working. The night went on, and I found out that this was Justin’s last night with Newberg young Life. He was needed somewhere else and he was answering his call. After some tears and a few speeches, I realized that I was truly meant to be there. God didn’t shut the door for me, I did. While Justin had the wrong number, I didn’t try to find out anything on my end. I just let it happen.

As I look back on my time with Justin, I realized that he truly had Jesus in him. His leadership and wisdom was amazing and I knew that he would drop anything to help if I went to him with questions. I remember the first time I listened to him speak at Leadership training, he said, “We can talk about God all we want and never even know Him.” Knowing Justin meant knowing Jesus. Last night as Justin was closing us with some reading in the Bible and talking about our journey without him, he spoke about how some of us may have a spiritual tank that feels near empty. I felt that. He then said something that I think was perfect for his last teaching for me: “There is no such thing as distance from God. From the moment that you accept Christ into your heart, you let the Holy Spirit come to you. And you are never alone.” Just thinking about Justin’s words brings me near to tears.

I remembered last night that to be like Jesus was to be like Justin. My goal in life isn’t to have a bunch of amazing achievements or be a huge influencer. My goal in life is to have people look and speak to me and know that Jesus lives in me. I want the wisdom, patience, calmness, and spirit of Jesus and Justin. Becoming a leader for St. Paul, I hope that I can be that person for someone. As my relationship with Christ has grown I have realized that the actions that people take because they are Christian aren’t to become perfect, but it’s to be like Jesus.

I don’t know how many people actually even read my blog posts fully but I really hope that whoever is reading, is truly learning. It doesn’t have to be a classroom of students. If I found out that one person met Jesus through me, that would be enough. I don’t know the backgrounds of people who are reading this but I hope wherever you are with your faith, if you don’t have anyone who exemplifies Jesus, I can be that person for you. That being said, I know I didn’t really have a life lesson for you this week and I didn’t have a list of Bible verses but this week I want to just use it as something to personally learn from and maybe even prompt you to think if you are showing Jesus in you. That being said, I feel that Philippians 2:1-18 goes really well with this. Read it if you would like and I hope that you find God speak to you through it in some way. For he is the one who truly knows your heart.



1Is there any encouragement from belonging to Christ? Any comfort from his love? Any fellowship together in the Spirit? Are your hearts tender and compassionate? 2Then make me truly happy by agreeing wholeheartedly with each other, loving one another, and working together with one mind and purpose. 3Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. 4Don’t look out only for your own interests, but take an interest in others, too. 5You must have the same attitude that Christ Jesus had. 6Though he was God, he did not think of equality with God as something to cling to. 7Instead, he gave up his divine privileges; he took the humble position of a slave and was born as a human being. When he appeared in human form,

8he humbled himself in obedience to God and died a criminal’s death on a cross. 9Therefore, God elevated him to the place of highest honor and gave him the name above all other names,

10that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth,

11and every tongue declare that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

12Dear friends, you always followed my instructions when I was with you. And now that I am away, it is even more important. Work hard to show the results of your salvation, obeying God with deep reverence and fear. 13For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him. 14Do everything without complaining and arguing, 15so that no one can criticize you. Live clean, innocent lives as children of God, shining like bright lights in a world full of crooked and perverse people. 16Hold firmly to the word of life; then, on the day of Christ’s return, I will be proud that I did not run the race in vain and that my work was not useless. 17But I will rejoice even if I lose my life, pouring it out like a liquid offering to God, just like your faithful service is an offering to God. And I want all of you to share that joy. 18Yes, you should rejoice, and I will share your joy.

Philippians 2: 1-18



Recent Posts

See All

The End of an Era

Being pregnant causes a weird haze around school that just doesn’t seem to go away. Being a week and a half away from graduation, I feel...

Transitions

Being pregnant comes with a lot of transitions. Tomorrow, I will be 25 weeks along with my twin boys and there are still so many new...

1 Comment


Ashleigh Scheuneman
Ashleigh Scheuneman
Mar 12, 2021

I read it all the way through. Your devotion and commitment to Christ is evident through your blog posts, and I am so excited for you as you embark on this new adventure in Him! I thought how you re-brought in the door close/open concept a little later during your blog post was a really good tie in to the beginning.

Like

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page