top of page

Finding Fellowship

Song of the Week: With Every Act of Love by Jason Gray

God put a million, million doors in the world

For His love to walk through

One of those doors is you


Happy Holy Week everyone! Whether you spend time celebrating it or not, celebrating Easter is something that I think is really special when you are able to think and meditate on the sacrifice that Jesus made for us. For this week’s blog post, rather than talk about Easter and what it means since I think we all have knowledge and understanding of it, I want to talk about something that God has put on my heart and what I am trying to pursue at the moment. Of course you know that I am someone that values my faith very much and I spend a lot of time pursuing it. In the course of the last week though, I felt that I was missing something. I was reading my Bible, praying, learning about theology but I felt like I was lacking something. On Sunday I had a meeting with a pastor from my church and he talked to me about how important it is to have community. I thought, yeah I live in a community. But what he meant was surrounding myself with people who were also pursuing their relationship with God and people who could grow with me.


On Tuesday, I went to my small group and we began discussing friendships and discipleship. There are two other girls in my group other than my leaders and they are best friends. Always around each other, talk about everything and are inseparable. I’ll be honest, I felt envious. Since coming to George Fox, I have felt like an outsider because not only am I a commuter, but because of COVID, I haven’t had many opportunities to make friends at events. I wanted to make friends, I wanted to talk to people about my faith. So when my small group asked me if I had somebody that I had a spiritual connection with, I honestly said no. I explained to them how I felt and how I struggled to find solid friends on campus. All of a sudden my whole group is praising my attributes and saying how good of a friend I would make and that God is playing his part and preparing people for me. They talked to me about pursuing relationships and friendships that will have a foundation.


Going home that day, I prayed to God while blasting my worship music and thought about the friends that I have from high school but barely talk to. We all live from home and do school but don’t usually talk. But when we do meet up, it's great! So I thought, “What if I start a small group with them?” Being spiritual and talking about faith wasn’t something that we did a lot and when we do, we only skim the surface. So I thought, why not try now. I texted them about the idea and they loved it! So we planned a day and time and starting next week we are going to start meeting up.


Thinking about community, I think about Jesus and how he approached it. He found 12 people from all different kinds of backgrounds and he was able to change the world. So why couldn’t I use the four friends that I have to build a foundation and change our own worlds? I usually like to include scripture in my blog posts not only to back up my points but also for me to learn, so let's look:


And we urge you, brothers and sisters, warn those who are idle and disruptive, encourage the disheartened, help the weak, be patient with everyone.

1 Thessalonians 5:14


A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for a time of adversity.

Proverbs 17:17


As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.

Proverbs 27: 17


For where two or three gather in my name, there am I with them.”

Matthew 18:20


Live in harmony with one another. Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position. Do not be conceited.

Romans 12:16


24 And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, 25 not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.

Hebrews 10:24-15


9 Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their labor: 10 If either of them falls down, one can help the other up. But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up. 11 Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm. But how can one keep warm alone? 12 Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.

Ecclesiastes 4:9-12


After reading these verses, and many more, I think of the beauty that comes from discipleship. I think about how God has put us in a body with one another. All of us are different but each of us play a part. I like how in Romans 12:16 it talks about not just finding godly people to associate with but disciple with those who are lower. So when I think of the friends I have made, all of us are in different places of faith but all of us have taken that step of wanting to disciple with each other. We can grow and sharpen each other as we start and continue our journey. I look forward to this path that I am set on and see what happens to me. But don’t get me wrong, I am still pursuing friendships on campus so if you need someone to talk to about faith or pretty much anything, I am an ear and companion!


For this song of the week, I thought of how community is love. Jesus calls us to love one another and when I was googling for songs, yes I couldn’t think of a song for this week, I was reminded of this throwback. In With Every Act of Love, it reminds us how we are supposed to treat each other and how God made us to spread his love. So to leave this post, I just want you to think about your own community and how it has influenced your faith or way of life. How are you spreading love? How can you grow with your faith? I hope this post not only teaches you but urges you to grow in your community :)



Recent Posts

See All

The End of an Era

Being pregnant causes a weird haze around school that just doesn’t seem to go away. Being a week and a half away from graduation, I feel...

Transitions

Being pregnant comes with a lot of transitions. Tomorrow, I will be 25 weeks along with my twin boys and there are still so many new...

1 Comment


Ashleigh Scheuneman
Ashleigh Scheuneman
Apr 02, 2021

Community is so important. I think it is such an amazing moment when God answers prayers like he answered yours. I love how you started your own group with friends you already had, but don't talk to much anymore. I read your post and felt God move. I like how you include Bible verses and how you also relate your posts to a song of the week.

Like

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page