top of page

The Armor of God

Song of the week: The Devil is a Liar by We the Messengers

"Though I walk through the valley of

The shadow of death I will fear no evil fear no evil

He comes to kill, steal and destroy

But I ain't quitting I'm not backing down

Not giving up he can't hold me back

Cause I run with the King"



A stereotype that I see given a lot to Christians is that they are ‘perfect’. So many times in high school, I would tell people I am Christian and I could see the darkness on their face as they say, “Oh, so you’re a golden child.” But what so many people don’t see is that Christians actually have a lot of trials and tribulations. A lot of Christians struggle with anxiety, depression, and psychological illnesses that make it really hard for their day to day life. By now, you already know that I have had a long struggle with anxiety. It had overcome everything in my life and I felt like I was so weighed down by it that I couldn’t move. But when I began to dive into the Word and focus on my relationship with God and the blessings He has given me, I felt that weight leave me.


Over the last couple of months, I would say that I was at a high point in my life. I was thriving. I had an amazing relationship, a great education, and I was able to connect with my family a lot. 2021 was going my way. In the midst of this I was chasing after God and the knowledge that He was giving me. But over the last couple of weeks, I remembered that there are still going to be trials. I was struggling with the toxic atmosphere at work and I felt spiritual attacks. I had been ignoring the struggles in the atmosphere for much longer than the last couple weeks but when my small group was challenged to speak out for justice in the name of God, I knew he was calling me out. While I am still working on the matter, I have learned to confront the problem but it won’t be solved in a day.

This week, I remembered that Satan is going to attack you where you are least expecting it. My time was consumed with house sitting, school work, and my relationship with Aaron. Not being focused on spiritual warfare, the enemy attacked. Making me busy, I decided to slow down. When I signed up for my baptist, I could hear the enemy whisper you aren’t good enough. Your sins will always be there. So I dove into the word and remembered that through my faith, I have been accepted by God. The other day, Aaron celebrated 5 months together! Wow! It feels like we just started dating. We were so surprised that 5 months had gone by so fast. This is where the enemy finally had a stronghold on me. I heard it whisper don’t get too attached. This can be taken away at any time. The devil had reminded me of my past. My last relationship had lasted 10 months and when it ended I was crushed. It had taken me by surprise. But when the enemy told me this, I remembered this: That relationship was not God given. It was not the one for me. There were issues and toxicity that had overgrown in the relationship. Aaron and I came together in God’s timing. Literally. I had been in a time in my life where I was solely focused on God and didn’t chase relationships anymore. I had given that part of my life to God. And when that happened, God pointed me towards Aaron. Someone I knew really well and I had never even considered being with.


That night I prayed to God and I confessed that I was being attacked. I prayed that he would watch over me and my dreams to keep the enemy at bay. And He did not fail. That night, my dreams were filled with the presence of God. It was amazing. But this made the enemy angry. I woke up 5 times that night. Just randomly. I knew that it was losing its stronghold and it was trying anything it could to worm its way back to me. Thinking about how the enemy tries to come in, we usually let it happen. We are so relaxed that it makes it easy for the enemy to pounce. And when we get hurt we ask why God allowed it when really it was us that allowed it. In reality, God equips us with the things we need to fight the enemy.


In Ephesians 6:10-17 it says:


10A final word: Be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11Put on all of God’s armor so that you will be able to stand firm against all strategies of the devil. 12For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places.

13Therefore, put on every piece of God’s armor so you will be able to resist the enemy in the time of evil. Then after the battle you will still be standing firm. 14Stand your ground, putting on the belt of truth and the body armor of God’s righteousness. 15For shoes, put on the peace that comes from the Good News so that you will be fully prepared. 16In addition to all of these, hold up the shield of faith to stop the fiery arrows of the devil. 17Put on salvation as your helmet, and take the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.



We are given the armor of God to fight the enemy. We are fighting those who are of the flesh but we fight those who we cannot see. Those who can see every weakness. We must stand our guard and use our weapons. What are our weapons? The word of God. When we study the word, we are given the knowledge and wisdom to recognize the enemy and fight it. When Jesus went to the wilderness, Satan tried to tempt him with worldly things. Jesus used scripture to fight him off:


1Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted there by the devil. 2For forty days and forty nights he fasted and became very hungry. 3During that time the devil came and said to him, “If you are the Son of God, tell these stones to become loaves of bread.”4But Jesus told him, “No! The Scriptures say, ‘People do not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.’” 5Then the devil took him to the holy city, Jerusalem, to the highest point of the Temple, 6and said, “If you are the Son of God, jump off! For the Scriptures say, ‘He will order his angels to protect you. And they will hold you up with their hands so you won’t even hurt your foot on a stone.’” 7Jesus responded, “The Scriptures also say, ‘You must not test the Lord your God.’” 8Next the devil took him to the peak of a very high mountain and showed him all the kingdoms of the world and their glory. 9“I will give it all to you,” he said, “if you will kneel down and worship me.” 10“Get out of here, Satan,” Jesus told him. “For the Scriptures say, ‘You must worship the Lord your God and serve only him.’” 11Then the devil went away, and angels came and took care of Jesus.


When we use scripture, the enemy cannot argue. They know the Word. Even Satan tried to use scripture to tempt Jesus. Satan knows how to attack you best. I mean, he even tried to attack to most perfect person ever to walk the earth. At the end of the temptation, Jesus verbally cast out Satan. You can too. I have. I literally was in the car driving one time and Satan tried to use my anxiety against me and I shouted, “Get out Satan! In the name of Jesus, get out!” Satan really doesn’t like to hear you cast him out in the name of Jesus, just so you know. What we can also use as armor is prayer. Continuing from Ephesians 6, it says in verse 18:


“18Pray in the Spirit at all times and on every occasion. Stay alert and be persistent in your prayers for all believers everywhere.”


Before I went to bed the other night, I had prayed to God that he would protect me. Prayer is so powerful and we forget to use it because we want to do everything ourselves. But in Matthew 7:7-8 Jesus says, “7“Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you. 8 For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And to everyone who knocks, the door will be opened.” The enemy uses anything it can to attack. Whether it’s social media, other people, your sleep, or even your own thoughts. The enemy will come, especially when you are following God’s plan. So whatever you are going through, know that it is the enemy who attacks you. So take up your armor and fight back. Don’t let it touch you.



Recent Posts

See All

The End of an Era

Being pregnant causes a weird haze around school that just doesn’t seem to go away. Being a week and a half away from graduation, I feel...

Transitions

Being pregnant comes with a lot of transitions. Tomorrow, I will be 25 weeks along with my twin boys and there are still so many new...

Commenti


Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page