top of page

The Blessing of Productivity

Song of the week: Move by Toby Mac

“(Move) Keep walkin', until the mornin' comes

(Move) Keep walkin', soldier keep movin' on

And lift your head, it ain't over yet”


This week has been interesting to say the least… If you know me, I am NOT a morning person. I’m lucky if I get out of bed before 9. But since my classes have started at 8 or 10, I’ve had to change up my sleep schedule. Two mornings a week, I have an 8 am class. Gross. My motivation to get out of bed is terrible and everyone in my class seems to be morning people. Meaning they look like they’ve been up for hours, put a nice outfit on, and even made themselves breakfast or coffee?? The other two days of my week I have a 10am class which allows me to sleep in enough to think I’m late for my 8 am, relax because I actually have a 10am, and then realize that I need to actually get ready.


Well here is the crazy part about this week: I woke up Monday morning at 7 and I was happy? I got up with full energy and was ready for the day. I got ready for school early and still had enough time to go get gas for my car and stop at my local Russian coffee shop to pick up a drink and the most amazing pastry. And then I got to campus 20 minutes earlier than I usually do. This is not something that usually happens and I was very thrown off by my sudden productivity. I thought this was a once in a term thing. But the next morning when I had to get up for my 8am, I was up at 6:30, happy again, and getting ready for the day. I even dressed nice. As the week went by I was on this weird habit of productivity and I knew it was a God thing. Never would I have thought that I could be this productive.


I began reflecting on what this could mean. Then it hit me, as much as we avoid the thought of it, laziness is a sin. Yup, it sucks but that’s how it is. Need some verses to back me up? Here’s a couple:


He who gathers in summer is a prudent son, but he who sleeps in harvest is a son who brings shame. Proverbs 10:5


The way of a sluggard is like a hedge of thorns, but the path of the upright is a level highway. Proverbs 15:19


Proverbs is a great place to go and find how laziness is not the ideal way of life. Sleeping in for me may not seem like it’s laziness, but your morning sets the rest of the day. If you are lazy in the morning, you are more likely to be lazy throughout the day. So this week when I was productive and happy in the morning, I had the motivation to keep going throughout the day. I began thinking about what God thinks of those who are productive and work hard. I thought of two things: Ruth and the Proverbs 31 woman.


Ruth 2: 1-13, 15-18

1Now there was a wealthy and influential man in Bethlehem named Boaz, who was a relative of Naomi’s husband, Elimelech. 2One day Ruth the Moabite said to Naomi, “Let me go out into the harvest fields to pick up the stalks of grain left behind by anyone who is kind enough to let me do it.”

Naomi replied, “All right, my daughter, go ahead.” 3So Ruth went out to gather grain behind the harvesters. And as it happened, she found herself working in a field that belonged to Boaz, the relative of her father-in-law, Elimelech. 4While she was there, Boaz arrived from Bethlehem and greeted the harvesters. “The Lord be with you!” he said. “The Lord bless you!” the harvesters replied.

5Then Boaz asked his foreman, “Who is that young woman over there? Who does she belong to?”

6And the foreman replied, “She is the young woman from Moab who came back with Naomi. 7She asked me this morning if she could gather grain behind the harvesters. She has been hard at work ever since, except for a few minutes’ rest in the shelter.” 8Boaz went over and said to Ruth, “Listen, my daughter. Stay right here with us when you gather grain; don’t go to any other fields. Stay right behind the young women working in my field. 9See which part of the field they are harvesting, and then follow them. I have warned the young men not to treat you roughly. And when you are thirsty, help yourself to the water they have drawn from the well.” 10Ruth fell at his feet and thanked him warmly. “What have I done to deserve such kindness?” she asked. “I am only a foreigner.” 11“Yes, I know,” Boaz replied. “But I also know about everything you have done for your mother-in-law since the death of your husband. I have heard how you left your father and mother and your own land to live here among complete strangers. 12May the Lord, the God of Israel, under whose wings you have come to take refuge, reward you fully for what you have done.”

13“I hope I continue to please you, sir,” she replied. “You have comforted me by speaking so kindly to me, even though I am not one of your workers.”... 15When Ruth went back to work again, Boaz ordered his young men, “Let her gather grain right among the sheaves without stopping her. 16 And pull out some heads of barley from the bundles and drop them on purpose for her. Let her pick them up, and don’t give her a hard time!” 17So Ruth gathered barley there all day, and when she beat out the grain that evening, it filled an entire basket. 18She carried it back into town and showed it to her mother-in-law. Ruth also gave her the roasted grain that was left over from her meal.


Ruth is known well for her hard work and love for others. After her husband died, leaving her home behind, she had followed her mother in law to another place so she could still care for her. After finding work in the fields, she was rewarded by the owner and she still worked hard in those fields. This is just the kind of person she was. Many in the church are encouraged to work hard like Ruth so that they may be blessed like she was. She is someone who is able to truly fulfill the idea of the Proverbs 31 woman.


Proverbs 31: 13- 31

13She finds wool and flax and busily spins it. 14She is like a merchant’s ship, bringing her food from afar. 15She gets up before dawn to prepare breakfast for her household and plan the day’s work for her servant girls. 16She goes to inspect a field and buys it; with her earnings she plants a vineyard. 17She is energetic and strong, a hard worker. 18She makes sure her dealings are profitable; her lamp burns late into the night. 19Her hands are busy spinning thread, her fingers twisting fiber. 20She extends a helping hand to the poor and opens her arms to the needy. 21She has no fear of winter for her household, for everyone has warm clothes. 22She makes her own bedspreads. She dresses in fine linen and purple gowns. 23Her husband is well known at the city gates, where he sits with the other civic leaders. 24She makes belted linen garments and sashes to sell to the merchants. 25She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she laughs without fear of the future. 26When she speaks, her words are wise, and she gives instructions with kindness. 27She carefully watches everything in her household and suffers nothing from laziness. 28Her children stand and bless her. Her husband praises her: 29“There are many virtuous and capable women in the world, but you surpass them all!” 30Charm is deceptive, and beauty does not last; but a woman who fears the Lord will be greatly praised. 31Reward her for all she has done. Let her deeds publicly declare her praise.


While women today may not be skilled in fieldwork or sewing garments, we can still take from this that our labor pays off and that we should work with diligence. This woman cares for her family and works hard for what she has. Anyone who looks at her knows that she has worked for what she has. There are aspects that we can take from this passage:


  • “She is energetic and strong, a hard worker”(31:17)

  • “She makes sure her dealings are profitable”(31:18)

  • “She extends a helping hand to the poor”(31:20)

  • “She is clothed in strength and dignity”(31:25)

  • “When she speaks, her words are wide, and she gives instructions with kindness”(31:26)

  • “[she] suffers nothing from laziness”(31:27)


Not only should womens strive to be this example but even men should too. Productivity isn’t just getting up early in the morning but it’s what you do after you get up. What you are doing throughout the day. And whatever you do, do it for God. We all fall into sin, but we need to remember what we can do to avoid it. Doing these works for God are a way to keep us stable in our faith. This week, I have been able to spend more time with God and disciple with other people. But I have a long way to go. While I plan on keeping that routine in the morning consistent, I need to work on what I am doing throughout my day. This song of the week is not only a VIBE and can help productivity, but it also gives a lesson about keeping going. We are going to have days that will make us not want to be productive. And there are times when we need rest. But what we need to remember is to keep going. To keep serving the Lord because we will be rewarded for it. So what are you doing to glorify God? Are you being lazy with your days or are you working hard like Ruth and the Proverbs 31 woman? What could you do to become them?



Recent Posts

See All

The End of an Era

Being pregnant causes a weird haze around school that just doesn’t seem to go away. Being a week and a half away from graduation, I feel...

Transitions

Being pregnant comes with a lot of transitions. Tomorrow, I will be 25 weeks along with my twin boys and there are still so many new...

コメント


Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page